The Kalagans of Davao City

I took an aimless walk in downtown Davao City last Sunday. It was something born out of being a surrogate son of Dabaw.  I just wanted to explore what’s in store in the city’s streets. I know the Kadayawan Festival has rolled off so I was hoping I could see new things and sights this time.

I didn’t expect I could catch up with the daily cultural performances slated at the city’s Rizal Park. It was almost 4p.m. so I was surprised when I heard sounds of Moro indigenous percussion “kulintang” and “agong.”

It was the day of the Kalagan Tribe’s cultural celebration. It was an interesting time to know the men and women among the tribe’s contingent there.

I tried to ask their leaders about their views about taking part in the Kadayawan festivities. Do they feel awkward being viewed just like exhibits? What should the government do to really help them improve and preserve their culture?

My acquaintance with this native tribe of Dabaw offered a simple reflection for me about identity and how to keep the balance in a multiculturalistic society. Somehow, a tribe is like a person who continuously seeks to assert his/her identity, recognition and own space

Read more about my brief meeting with the Kalagans here.

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

15 responses to “The Kalagans of Davao City”

  1. ken says :

    could you send me an information or any site about KALAGAN TRIBE? i will use it as my reference on my report this coming monday..pls…it’s hard to search here in the net..

  2. john says :

    pls. inform us more about kalagan’culture and history about their tribe

  3. jenalyn says :

    pls. inform more about the kalagan because its our report tommorow i hope you’ll gave it to me nowwwwww

  4. mindanaw says :

    Sorry about not being able to attend to your personal concerns on your supposed report on the Kalagan tribe.

    The best way to report about the Kalagans is to let them be the one to speak for themselves.

    Having written about them does not make me qualified and authorized to share more information about them other than those I wrote about based on my encounter with them.

    I’m not so sure also if there are a lot of available library sources about them, but you can try that too.

    If you are in Davao City, there is no alternative to talking to them personally.

    Anyway, thanks for dropping by.

  5. Janor says :

    salam

    thanks for your interest on this particular tribe.

    jay

  6. belle says :

    where is the best area here in davao city can we found the kalagan tribes…….?????????????tnx

  7. caryl says :

    do you have more about the Kalagans? i would love to read more about the tribe’s history.

    thanks.

  8. pmyanews.blogspot.com says :

    i am a kagan or kalagan anw we want to shareour culture! have us heard. thanks. 09103173887

  9. pmyanews.blogspot.com says :

    visit our blogspot at pmyanews.blogspot.com we speak our toungue there!

  10. hakim says :

    Nice One Blog!!!! More, more….

  11. yonos says :

    salam….brod&sis,kong gusto nyo magtanong about kalagan pnta kayo ng sirawan….bro….janor ask lang ako maganda cguro gawa ka ng history about sa aming lugar sirawan research ka rin kasi kami din ang unang nag simula ng sirawan sa mga lolo at lola pa nmin actually marami na ngayon ang naninirahan sa sirawan na mga dayuhan lang….kami ang originated jan….search apelyido LANDAS OR MOHAMAD…SUKRAN…

  12. yonos says :

    KASI YONG MGA ORIGINATED JAN SA SIRAWAN NATATAKPAN NA NG MGA TAONG DAYUHAN,ANG IBA DAYU NAKABILI NG LUPAIN AT ISA NA COMMENT KO DIN…YONG MGA DAYUHAN PA ANG SUMIRA SA LUGAR NAMIN….AT YONG MGA ORIGINATED PARANG NAWAWALA NA ANG HISTORY ABOUT SIRAWAN KONG PAGMASDAN MO NOON AT NGAYON MALAKI ANG PAGKAKAIBA…

  13. Auharon Abdulcarim says :

    Thanks sa pagtangkiik niyo sa aming tribo and i hope na kung interested kau vna may tanong kau, visit to my facebook, hakim777emo@yahoo.com

  14. Jehanne Ramos Basher says :

    i do need more about kalagan tribe esp. their literature and their words..
    plz help me.it is my research paper

    • ala says :

      try to check the kalagans of tibungco, davao city. harap lang ng palengke and look for my aunt named gasang francisquete (she got married a christian who later embraced Islam). she knows the history of kalagan tribe and tantiya namin she is 100+ na.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

