Only one Mindanawon senatorial bet near winning circle

koko1.jpgIf senatorial elections were held today, no Mindanawon will be elected senator, according to this report from MindaNews’ Carolyn Arguillas.

But, the report said, there is one close enough to join the winning circle, results from the 1st quartersurvey of the Social Weather Station (SWS) show.

The SWS survey, conducted February 24 to 27 using the names of all 80 persons who filed theircandidacies for the Senate, shows the winning 12 is 9-3 in favor of the “non-administration” whichis defined as the opposition plus non-administration bets Francisco Pangilinan (Liberal Party) andGreogrio Honasan (Ind).

The Mindanawon closest to the winning circle and considered still “within bounds of statistical error”is 14th placer, Genuine Opposition member Aquilino “Coco” Pimentel (Partido ng DemokratikongPilipino) who is the choice of 26% of registered voters, after 13th placer Edgardo Angara (Laban ngDemokratikong Pilipino) who is the choice of 27%.

In a press statement issued today, the SWS reported that the 1st quarter survey front-runner isPangilinan (LP) who was chosen by 56% of registered voters; 2nd is Loren Legarda (NationalistPeople’s Party-GO) with 54% of the registered voters; 3rd is Manuel Villar Jr. (Nacionalista Party) with52%, in the fourth and fifth slot is Alan Peter Cayetano (Nacionalista Party) and Panfilo Lacson (United Opposition) with 43%, and tied-for 6th , 7th are Francis Escudero (Nationalist People’s Party-GO)
and Ralph Recto (Lakas-CMD) with 37%.

Eighth is Vicente Sotto III (Nationalist People’s Party-Team Unity or TU) with 31%.

Tied for the 9th and 10th slot are John Osmeña (United Opposition) and Benigno Aquino III (LiberalParty) with 30%.

On the 11th slot is Gregorio Honasan (Independent) with 29% while the final slot is from TU, Joker Arroyo (Kabalikat ng Malayang Pilipino) with 28%.

Following Pimentel in the survey are 15th placer Michael Defensor of TU with 21% 16th is Sonia Roco of GO (19%); 17th is Juan Miguel Zubiri of TU (18%): 18th to 19th are Cesar Montano (TU) andRichard Gomez (Ind.) with 15%;.

On the 20th slot is Vicente Magsaysay of TU (14%); 21st is Anna Dominique Coseteng of GO (13%) , 22nd to 24th are Prospero Pichay Jr. of TU, Antonio Trillanes (GO), and Teresa A. Oreta (TU) at 12%each and 25th is Luis Singson of TU at 7%.

Joselito Cayetano of Davao City, who is being petitioned for disqualification for allegedly being used as a nuisance candidate against Alan Peter Cayetano, landed 26th, after Singson with 6% .
The SWS survey also showed that no Moro will get a Senate seat if elections were held today as senatorial bets Sulu Sultan Jamalul Kiram landed 30th to 33rd with 2% of the votes while MujahabHashim is 34th to 58th with 1% vote. (Carolyn O. Arguillas/MindaNews)


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: