The World I Know

I spent one of the best years in my life so far in 1996.

I was then a Mindanawon student in UP Visayas. By the time I enrolled in the university in 1994, there was still no UP Mindanao.

It was a year of discoveries for me. It was a year of books and poetry. It was a year of active student activities and academic challenges. It was a year of sports, gaining more confidence for basketball, tennis, and biking. But it was the year I almost flunked swimming classes with the cumbersome threading exercises.

It was the year I met some people who brought me to work non-government organizations. It was a year of community work, too, with fisherfolks by the shores of Miagao. It was a year of good and bad relationships. It was the year I became spiritual, so to speak.

I think it was a year after I graduated from the damning Saturdays with the ROTC. It was also a great year for U.P. to think over its idle assets (newer UP campuses have vast lands to its name).

It was above all a year of lessons learned.

Was it a year when I know myself much much better? Well, I could best remember 1996 with my first copy of the Collective Soul’s music. It was a Cassette tape! Was it also the year of Collective Soul and alternative music?

I was on my way to Kalibo, Aklan for an excursion for our Philippine Economic History class with our young instructor. On the way, we played wonderful music and among them was his Collective Soul album copy. When we returned to Iloilo, I went to the Record store and bought my own copy. My top three choice of songs in the album were “The World I know“, “Run“, and “Shine“.

Collective Soul was probably my first favorite foreign band after the tradition of the bands I listened to in highschool like Guns N’ Roses, White Lion, and Jon Bon Jovi. Of course my  local band favorite then was the ultraelectromagnetic pop icon, the Eraserheads (of yesteryears).

I lost my CS copy, however,  in 1998 to a new roommate who probably needed that music more than I did. Since then, I could only hear CS and their songs occasionally from the radio.
But thanks to internet videos, I reclaimed old connections. I found their music once again in the internet. I felt good revisiting wonderful segments of world history from my point of view.

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

