Duterte’s party bares line up; daughter in, Bayan Muna bet out

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/26 March) – Mayor Rodrigo Duterte’s daughter Sara,
will run as his running mate in the May 14 election, he told reporters in an
interview during a visit today to victims of a fire that occurred near the
Bangkerohan Public Market.

Father’s daugter: Sara poses with her father’s trademark, a bike. [Photo from Motorcycle Magazine]

Until last month, Duterte had said he would still consult Davaoeños on the
candidacy of his 28-year old daughter.

Duterte’s party has also bared its 23 candidates for 24 elective members of
the city council.

The mayor said a plan to field Jeppie Ramada, secretary-general of Bayan
Muna Southern Mindanao, did not materialize over a disagreement with the
party-list group.

Duterte has asked Bayan Muna to renounce its alleged links with the New
Peoples Army after the military reported finding campaign materials of the
party-list group in a rebel camp.

Ramada’s possible inclusion as one of the candidates of this city’s dominant
political bloc was mulled owing to the mayor’s alliance with Bayan Muna in
past elections.

The ruling local party Hugpong Sa Tawong Lungsod (Coalition of People) which
Duterte heads revealed its lineup in newspaper reports Monday.

Hugpong’s candidates for Congress are House Majority Leader Prospero
Nograles (first district), incumbent Rep. Vincent Garcia (second district)
and former city councilor Isidro Ungab (third district).

Hugpong’s slate showed it is fielding the following candidates for members
of the City Council:

First district: Incumbent councilors Nilo Abellera, Mabel Sunga-Acosta,
Leonardo R. Avila III, Pilar Braga, Peter Laviña, Angela Librado-Trinidad,
Bonifacio Militar and Brgy 5-A village chief Edgar Ibuyan.

Second district: Incumbent Arnolfo Ricardo Cabling, Danilo Dayanghirang,
Diosdado Mahipus, Nenita Orcullo and Susan Isabel Reta.

Vice Mayor Luis Bonguyan’s son Louie John, former councilor Tomas Monteverde
IV, and Samuel Bangoy, brother of incumbent councilor Gerald are also in the

Third district: Victorio Advincula, Wilberto Al-Ag, Conrado Baluran, Jesus
Zozobrado and Jose Louie Villafuerte.

Karlo Bello, son of former Justice Sec. Silvestre Bello and former councilor
Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz are also in the slate.

Davao City District 3 Election Officer Lacsasa Casar told reporters Monday
that until politicians filed their certificates of candidacy, the line up
could still be altered. He said Hugpong’s bets have not yet filed their
certificates of candidacy. (Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: