No big opponents for Dutertes in Davao City

DAVAO CITY – No major contenders are challenging the Duterte father-daughter tandem here for the May 14 elections as filing of certificates of candidacy closed 12 midnight Thursday.


Mayor Rodrigo Duterte’s opponents are all “independent” candidates to include namesake Rodrigo Sulamin, media man Justinian “Sonny” Joaquin, Teodoro Mantilla and market vendor Henry Satera.


Sulamin, Duterte’s neighbor, was first to file in January while the other three filed their COCs Thursday.

Duterte’s lawyer-daughter Sara is pitted against Dr. Jeffrey Ho, her only opponent.


Former Davao City Mayor Benjamin De Guzman, who was reported to have eyed a come back as vice mayor, is gunning for Davao City’s third congressional seat.

He runs against former city councilor Isidro Ungab and incumbent Councilor Rene Elias Lopez, brother of sitting congressman Ruy Elias, who is with the opposition and Sonja Rodriguez of Kampi. Duterte is backing Ungab.


Two unknown “independent” candidates, Edgar Mabilog and Anacleto Millendez will challenge House Majority Floor Leader Prospero Nograles (Lakas-CMD) for the congressional seat in the first district.

Nograles and Duterte have forged an alliance for the May 2007 elections.


Jimmy Dureza, brother of Peace Process Adviser Sec. Jesus Dureza ran against incumbent Rep. Vincent Garcia (NPC) and two other contenders Abelardo Aportadera, (LP) and Joel Batucan for the second district.

Duterte’s party Hugpong sa Tawong Lungsod (Coalition of People) bared only 23 bets for the 24-member city council following his exclusion of local Bayan Muna spokesperson Jeppie Ramada over misunderstanding.  

He said he will not complete the slate.

Duterte is running for his third term, his sixth as mayor (he ran for Congress in 1998 after completing a three-term. He reclaimed the mayoralty from de Guzman.

Duterte’s candidacy was filed by his daughter, Sara, who is Duterte’s running mate.

Fifty one candidates are vying for 24 seats in the City Council, 16 from the First district, 17 from the second district, and 18 from the third district based on the final list of those who filed certificates of candidacy.

Twenty two of the bets ran as “independent.”(Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: