Retreat to basic

I start a respite today to travel home and be offline for the next four days.

It is the Catholic Church’s Holy Week and this prayerful time requires me to be with family in the bondocs. Since I was a kid, I have never escaped from the tenets of this tradition. Not that I tried to.

Even if my father converted to Pentecostalism in 1989, my mother remained devoted  with the rest of the family.

I have deep respect for this church tradition. It also keeps me attached to the traditions of my grandparents and their ancestry.

I started attending spiritual formation circles sometime during my adventurous days in the university. I was presented to both the mystical and doctrinal exploration of knowing my faith. And I get to debate or doubt dogma or some of these lines therein when I was introduced to the practice of spiritual direction, and later self-direction.Truly, understanding my sets of beliefs got me hooked. But it was one liberating experience. Some people call it brainwashed, while others say submission. I don’t really know if they have enough basis to judge.

FAST FORWARD. Another Holy Week is here and I will come face to face with it, once again.
Don’t get me wrong. I am proud of my mold being part of a life-giving church community.

It is just that, I didn’t have much of my life-giving experiences reflecting during the Holy Week. Yes, it has become an opportunity to reflect on God’s sacrifice and the Love he gave. Also, about the love I owe humanity and the heavens.

I am thankful for many things, including salvation. For that, I have remained opened to mark it every year despite me finding sometimes it is too boxed.😦

Once again I will go through a five-hour transition period – taking the bus ride or hitchhike with a friend’s official trip with my backpack- shifting from Davao to Bukidnon. From work to home. From living to life. For all its worth.

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

