Back in most livable city Davao

I’m back in Davao City, probably still the most livable among Philippine cities.

After the trip to Surigao del Sur, I took a week-long work leave and  spent time with family in beautiful and relaxing  Malaybalay City in Bukidnon.

As a reporter I couldn’t break free, however, from reading the papers, checking mails and even actually interviewing people, especially on the upcoming elections.
Our humble city of Malaybalay is beautiful, but it pales in Davao’s beauty and energy. I’ve been hopping from Malaybalay and Davao cities since 2004.

Anyway, I did a lot of work also while being physically away from work.

The highlight was really a HIGHLIGHT. I was able to interview the controversial former elections commissioner Virgillio Garcillano in his residence in Baungon, Bukidnon.Our editor, Carol Arguillas and video chief Froilan Gallardo asked me to join them in the interview, which lasted up to past 12 midnight!

Anyway, I also had a chance to work back in my favorite communities in Bukidnon, revisiting old friends. I found myself in the outskirts of Central Mindanao University in Musuan, Maramag town where I met Fr. Dan Paciente who is in-charge of NAMFREL and PPCRV in the province.

Up to late evening later on Sunday, I was in a countryside chapel interviewing workers of BUSCO Sugar Mill in Butong, Quezon town. Pads was very generous to let me hitchhike in his Mitsubishi Adventure as he met with members of an Agrarian Reform Community in the area.

More of the stories tomorrow, it was a a long trip we took today and the first thing I thought of after disembarking Mindawind was to grab a sleep (and post this thereafter.)

I think being back in Davao means being back to  center to write the stories and share the experiences. Yabag!

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

