Failure of elections declared in 19 towns in Mindanao

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/14 May) — Failure of elections was declared in 19 towns in Mindanao,
mostly in Lanao del Sur, according to a report from the Mindanao Economic Development Council
(MEDCo)-initiated Kalinaw Mindanao election monitoring here.

Nineteen towns represent about five per cent of the towns in Mindanao. Mindanao has 27 provinces,
27 cities and 422 towns. As of 4 p.m. today, 14 of the towns where failure of elections was declared were in Lanao del Sur,
four in Basilan, and one in Lanao del Norte. But MindaNews reporter Froilan Gallardo who is covering
Lanao del Sur said failure of elections was declared only in 11 towns.

There was no failure of elections reported in Caraga, Southeastern Mindanao, Western Mindanao, and
Southwestern Mindanao.

Under Section 6, Article 1 of the Omnibus Election Code a failure of election can be declared if, by
reason of “force majeure, violence, terrorism, fraud, or other analogous causes,” the election does
not take place or is suspended before the closing of the voting, “or after the voting and during the
preparation and the transmission of the election returns or in the custody or canvass thereof, such
election results in a failure to elect, and in any of such cases the failure or suspension of election
would affect the result of the election.”

Kalinaw Mindanaw also reported failure of elections in five barangays in Maigo town in Lanao del

Kalinaw Mindanao based its reports from the regional offices of the Comelec and the Office of the
Civil Defense.

Citing a report from the Comelec in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), failure of
elections was declared in Sultan Dumalundong, Binidayan, Pualas, Madalum, Bayang, Lumba Bayabao,
Masiu, Kapai, Lumbayanague, Lumbatan.

Kalinaw Mindanaw also cited a report from the Office of Civil Defense, that failure of election was
declared in Butig, Kapatagan, Marugong and Tuburan.

In Basilan, failure of elections as declared in Akbar, Caddayan, Paguengan and Upper Sinangapan.

In Lanao del Norte, the OCD reported failure of election in Pantar and barangays Mitiring, Labuay,
Balagatasa, Claro M. Recto and Imuma in Maigo town. (Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: