Bukidnon voted 7-3-2 in favor of opposition

MALAYBALAY CITY – The province of Bukidnon, home of administration senatorial bet Rep. Juan Miguel Zubiri voted in favor of the opposition slate with seven from the Genuine Opposition, three from Team Unity, and two independent bets in the Magic 12, according to the final provincial count from the Commission on Elections here.

Bukidnon, with 601,082 registered voters in 3,143 precincts, did not fail its own.

Zubiri topped the senatorial race with 328, 970 votes, followed by former senator Loren Legarda (GO) with 202, 589 and Sorsogon Rep. Francis Escudero (GO) with 179, 253.

Other Mindanawon bets, like lawyer Aquilino Pimentel III (GO) and Surigao Rep. Prospero Pichay (TU) also made it to the top 12 in the province.

In order of votes, the rest of the bets in the Top 12 are the following:

Manuel Villar (GO) 157, 366; Panfilo Lacson (GO) 151, 424; Francis Pangilinan (Ind.) 145, 911; Aquilino Pimentel III (GO) 139, 628; Prospero Pichay (TU) 134, 071; Antonio Trillanes IV (GO) 127, 997; Benigno Aquino III (GO) 126, 886; Gregorio Honasan ( Ind) 123, 193; Edgardo Angara (TU) 117, 497.

After Angara is the GO’s Alan Cayetano, Mike Defensor (TU), Cesar Montano (TU), Ralph Recto (TU), Joker Arroyo (TU), John Osmeña (GO), Vic Magsaysay (TU), Sonia Roco (GO), Vicente Sotto III (TU), Nikki Coseteng (GO).

Ilocos Gov. Luis “Chavit” Singson (TU), who topped the race in Maguindanao province, ranked 23rd here, just above by 265 votes over Sultan Jamalul Kiram (TU), both slate’s tail-ender.

There were 37 candidates for senators.

Zubiri’s votes outnumbered that of his father, incumbent Gov. Jose Ma. R. Zubiri, Jr. (323, 238) who won with a wide margin over his lone opponent First District Rep. Juan Nereus Acosta (70, 993).

A Teacher, the party-list group styled as representing the plight of teachers in the country, topped the party-list contest in the province with 15, 288 as three anti-Arroyo party-list also made it to the top 10 here.

Following is the rest of the top 10:

Coop Natco (15, 036); Bayan Muna (10, 742); ABA AKO (10, 148); ANAD (8, 211); Anak Mindanao (7, 279); Arts, Business and Science Professionals (7090); Angat Tayo (3, 913); Anak Pawis (3, 703) and Akbayan (3016).

About one of two, however, who voted for Zubiri in Bukidnon did not vote for a party-list. According to the Comelec tally, the total votes for party lists was computed at 164, 792, just a few votes more than half of those who voted Zubiri.

More votes went to Zubiri, Legarda, and Escudero than the total votes counted for any party-list group.

As of 4p.m. today, final and unofficial results from the Namfrel Bukidnon quick count has not been released yet pending the arrival of election returns from Don Carlos, a town in the third district. Fr. Danilo Paciente, Namfrel-NASSA-PPCRV Bukidnon chair said the tabulation in the town was already done. (Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: