Mindanao after May 14: New offices for same faces

Here’s to a Mindanao-wide wrap up of some election winners:

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/22 May) – Same faces, new offices — at least that’s
the picture from the initial list of candidates already proclaimed winners
across Mindanao’s 27 provinces and 27 cities.

It’s still a Pinol-Sacdalan team-up in the next three years in North Cotabato
but they’re trading positions: Jesus Sacdalan will be governor and Emmanuel
Pinol will be his vice governor .

In the other provinces, “graduating” three-term legislators are moving over to
the chief executive’s offices as mayors or governors while “graduating” chief
executives are moving over to the legislature.North Cotabato first district Rep. Emmylou Taliño-Mendoza was reelected to a
third term. Her father, Carmen mayor Roger Talino, the three-term mayor of
Carmen town, lost in the gubernatorial race but mother Noemi won as mayor of

Pinol’s brother, Bernardo, Jr., won in the second congressional district
against Evaresto Gana, former congressman Gregorio Andolana and Zaida
Jubilan-Rensulat, who was substitute candidate following the death of her
sister Solema Jubilan.

The Plazas still dominate Agusan del Sur and the Amantes, Agusan del Norte.

In Agusan del Norte, Erlpe John Amante won a second term as governor while his
father, Edelmiro, is returning to Congress.

In Agusan del Sur, Rodolfo Plaza won a third term as representative while
Maria Valentina Plaza Cornelio won as governor.

In Bukidnon, Jose Ma. Zubiri was elected to a third term as governor, his son
Jose Ma. III was elected to the seat brother Rep. and now senatorial bet Juan
Miguel is vacating in the third congressional district. Zubiri’s candidate in
the first district, Candido Pancrudo, won against Malou Acosta, (sister of
defeated gubernatorial bet Nereus, the three-term representative) and the
controversial former elections commissioner Virgilio Garcillano. Teofisto
Guingona’s son, Teofisto II, won a second term as representative of the second
district while his mother, Ruthie de Lara-Guingona, won a second term as mayor
of Gingoog City.

In Davao Oriental, three-term Rep. Corazon Malanyaon is the new governor with
Rep. Joel Mayo Almario as vice governor. Almario’s mother, Thelma, is
representative of the second district while Nelson Dayanghirang won as first
district representative.
In Davao del Norte, Rodolfo del Rosario is back as governor. Davao del Sur is
still a toss-up between the Bautista and Cagas families although three-term
Rep. Douglas Cagas’ son, Marc has won the seat he is vacating in the first

In Compostela Valley, the Caballeros took a beating with Governor Jose
Caballero losing his bid for the 2nd district seat in Congress to Rommel
Amatong, and his daughter Kristine Mae losing her bid for governor to
provincial board member Arturo Uy. Uy’s brother is also mayor of neighboring
Tagum City. Manuel “Way Kurat” Zamora earned his third term in the 1st dstrict.

In Lanao del Norte, the father and son team of Abdullah and Khalid Dimaporo
emerged as winners as 2nd district Rep. and governor, respectively, but Imelda
Dimaporo, wife and mother was losing in the 1st district congressional race
against Vicente “Varf” Belmonte and Angelique Dawn “Nikki” Badelles, daughter
of three-term Rep. Mariano Badelles.

In Maguindanao, Governor Andal Ampatuan, Sr. was elected to a third term,
while his son Datu Sajid Islam Uy Ampatuan, won as vice governor. Two other
sons won their mayoralty bids: Datu Anwar Uy Ampatuan as mayor of Shariff
Aguak and Datu Andal Ampatuan, Jr.,

In Misamis Occidental and Oriental, Governors Leo Loreto Ocampos and Oscar
Moreno were also reelected.

In Sarangani and South Cotabato, Miguel Rene Dominguez and Daisy
Avance-Fuentes earned their second and third terms, respectively.

Fuentes won a third term along with Reps. Darlene Antonino-Custodio (1st
district) and Arthur Pingoy (2nd district).

In Sultan Kudarat, three-term governor Pax Mangudadatu has been proclaimed
winner in the 1st congressional district. Sultan Kudarat used to have only one
district. It now has two.

Vicente Pimentel was reelected governor of Surigao del Sur. Philip Pichay won
the seat in the first district that brother Prospero, a senatorial candidate,
is vacating. Former Bislig City mayor Florencio Garay won as representative of
the second district.

In Zamboanga Sibugay, Governor George Hofer won a third term while daughter
Dulce Ann won in the congressional race.

Zamboanga del Sur is still Cerilles country with husband Antonio winning
reelection in Congress, wife Aurora reelected as governor and son Ace, the new
mayor of Dumalinao town.

In the cities, mayors Democrito Plaza II of Butuan, Rodrigo Duterte of Davao,
Pedro Acharon of General Santos, Ruthie Guingona (wife of Arroyo critic
Teofisto Guingona who ran under Lakas-CMD), Celso Lobregat (who also ran under
Lakas-CMD) and Alfonso Casurra of Surigao, Fernando Miguel of Koronadal,
Florencio Flores of Malaybalay, Muslimin Sema of Cotabato were reelected.

Duterte’s daughter, Sara, won as vice mayor of Davao City. (Carolyn O.
Arguillas, Williamor A. Magbanua, Allen V. Estabillo, Violeta M. Gloria and
Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: