Bayan Muna leader: Captors forced me to become gov’t spy

Gilbert Rey Cardiño, the regional coordinator of the leftist party-list group Bayan Muna in Southern Mindanao broke his silence on Tuesday, saying his abductors forced him to become a government mole, according to the website GMA News.tv.

“They forced me to sign a document about my work to them as an asset. They will hurt me, my wife and kid should I fail them. They expect me to issue a statement to the media and I know they are closely monitoring my statement if I’m abiding in our agreement,” Cardiño said in Tuesday’s press conference in Koronal City’s Protect Center.

He added: That’s the reason why I (was) hesitant before to talk to the media,”
Kidnappers released the 27-year-old Cardiño Friday morning, two days after his daylight abduction in Koronadal City. Read the full story here.


About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

