Blog in pure Cebuano or Binisaya? Nganong dili?

I received at least three comments so far why I named my blog as “Istambay sa Mindanao” when I write it in English. Of course, the comments got me.
It is true. I really should have written in Binisaya. But my job as a reporter requires me to write and probably, without much choice, think in English.

I have often blurred about this because while I feel comfortable communicating in English despite my own share of imperfections, I really know I should be able to communicate well in my own language, too.

That’s when I thought before about putting up a blog in Binisaya. It will be, I hope purely in THE (my) vernacular.

Something hit my head when I woke up today, and got splashed with water by a crazy housemate supposedly in honor of the Feast of St. John the Baptist.

Thanks to that, perhaps, I can now introduce Linyang Bisdak, a blog on anything under the sun in Binisaya.

If you understand Cebuano or you want more exposure to the written form of the language, feel free to drop by. Thanks.

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

