Violins, not violence

The phrase isn’t original. But that’s what I remembered when I was in front of a scene in GSIS Heights Subdivision here in Davao City by noon time today.

I saw two men in the new sidewalk of Virgo Street while I was waiting for my turn for a pedal cab from the office to MacArthur Highway. They were playing pop music on a violin and a guitar.

I love the violin and it is the instrument I’d like to master and play everyday. To experience a performance out in the street was, of course,  a bonus.

The musicians stood under the shade of a tree with copies of pieces they played scattered on the elevated pavement in front of them. I could see the musical notes on those sheets as I pretended to rest from a walk near them.

The music was good. It had a soothing effect especially with the scorching heat. They played very well that I wondered if they were from another place brought in by passion to play, and decided to let the neighborhood sample their music.

They were not dressed like they were to play in an orchestra. In fact they wore slippers and were dressed casually like they were residents of the village.

I would later find out it was a father and son tandem. The younger man played the violin with, all ease, while it was obvious his father was coaching him as he played the guitar.

I’ve thought about the young people of Davao, plagued with problems of poverty and crime. Isn’t it good to influence them to hook on sports and or music, like playing the violin, guitar, kudyapi, flute, or sax? Maybe the city government or civil society could buy the instruments, launch a musical contest or whatever, and win the hearts of the youth to stuff that uplifts the soul and instills discipline.

Maybe the schools are too crowded. Maybe there will be many youth volunteers who can  teach many skills.

In that case, I suppose the city’s problem with juvenile violators of the law will be curbed.

Maybe I’m just too influenced by movies featuring Carnegie Hall performances.

Anyway, after hearing five pieces from them, I started to feel I had become invasive and exploitative. I was benefiting yet I didn’t pay for it.

I also couldn’t disrupt them and ask if they can perform some other time because they looked so buried in their music.

Then the pedal cab arrived. Time to end the fun. I wish I have the instrument, the training, and the right group.

I would do street performances often. Really. Trust me.

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

Leave a Reply

