Reflections: Home Sick

“You’re in a better place, I’ve heard a thousand times
And at least a thousand times I’ve rejoiced for you
But the reason why I’m broken, the reason why I cry
Is how long must I wait to be with you

I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
I’ve never been more homesick than now

Help me Lord cause I don’t understand your ways
The reason why I wonder if I’ll ever know
But, even if you showed me, the hurt would be the same
Cause I’m still here so far away from home

I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
I’ve never been more homesick than now

In Christ, there are no goodbye
And in Christ, there is no end
So I’ll hold onto Jesus with all that I have
To see you again
To see you again

And I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
Won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
Won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow

I’ve never been more homesick than now.” (END)

Good bye Davao!
June 2004 – November 2007

(Song by Mercy Me)

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

2 responses to “Reflections: Home Sick”

  1. Penelope C. Sanz says :

    Dear Walter,

    Here’s something I would like to share with you. This is a favorite song of mine, The Pilgrim’s Theme. Consider this as my send off gift to you.

    Tired of weaving dreams
    Too loose for me to weave
    Tired of watching clouds
    Repeat their dance on air

    Tired of getting tied to
    Doing what’s required
    Is life for me routine
    In the greater scheme of things

    Through of taking roles
    Someone else decide
    Through of chasing stars
    That soon forget to shine
    Through with going through
    One more day what’s new
    Does my life still mean a thing
    In the greater scheme of things

    I think I’ll follow the voice that calls within
    Dance to the silence song it sings
    I hope to find my place
    So my life will fall in place
    I know in time I’ll find my place
    In the greater scheme of things

    Each must go his way
    But how can I decide
    Which path I should take
    Who will be my guide?

    I need some kind of star
    To lead me somewhere far
    To find a higher dream
    With the greater scheme of things

    The road before me bends
    I don’t know what I’ll find
    Will I meet a friend or ghost I’ve left behind
    Should I even be surprised
    That you’re with me in disguise
    For its your hand that I have seen
    In the greater scheme of things

    I think I’ll follow the voice that calls within
    Dance to the silence song it sings
    I hope to find my place
    So my life will fall in place
    I know in time I’ll find my place
    For yours is the voice in my deepest dreams
    You are the heart of the very heart
    Of the greater scheme of things

    So here I follow the voice that calls within
    Dance to the silence song it sings
    I hope to find my place
    So my life will fall in place
    I know in time I’ll find my place

    Why don’t we follow the voice that calls within
    Dance to the silence song it sings
    One day we’ll find our place
    For all these fall in place
    For all things have a place
    In the greater scheme of things

    Woltir!!! Who’s going to call me at the wee hours and just say, “Peenee, you still alive”? Who am I going to talk to about God and his goodness whenever I see a rainbow after an afternoon shower? Who am I now going to ask for telephone numbers and addresses now that you’re heading to where you’ve got limited internet access?
    Just as I am grounded here in Davao and banned from fieldwork for a year (Waah! Doctor’s orders – yeah right! :P), you’re going. Sigh. Another parting….
    I still owe you a cup of coffee (overdue for a year already right?). Can I just send you a sachet of Nescafe and Coffeemate instead hehe?
    Woltir, I’m just so blessed to have you as my friend all these years. I may be poor and obscure but I’ve got a friend like you… so what more can I ask for?
    I’m going to miss you big time. Go follow your heart Walter I. Balane. Godspeed!

  2. nikkeijin says :

    so..its for real. you really are leaving davao… well as for me.. im going home to Davao soon. =P

Leave a Reply

