Bukidnon to Iligan and back

After months of planning and preparation, the proposed training on Basic Journalism with Iligan City-based Civil Society Organization – Forum for Peace (CSOFP) was finally done.

We conducted the training on February 22 to 23 at the Redemptorist Compound in Brgy. San Miguel, Iligan City.

It was conducted under the Grassroots Documentation and Reporting Training arm of the Mindanao News and Information Cooperative Center, the group running MindaNews.

The engagement provided opportunity for me to travel, again, to another city in Mindanao for GDRT. It’s the fifth grassroots training engagement which I helped facilitate after that in Upi, Maguindanao (now in Shariff Kabungsuan); Caraga, Davao Oriental; Tandag, Surigao del Sur; GSIS Heights, Matina, Davao City.

We gave basic training workshops on News writing, Feature writing, preparing press statements and basic photography.

There were about 30 participants in the training representing non-government organizations and peoples organizations in Iligan City, Marawi City, Lanao del Norte and Lanao deo Sur.

The trip served as a breather for me from the “provincial” confines of Bukidnon. I traveled by bus from Malaybalay City to Cagayan de Oro late afternoon on Feb. 21.

To divert my attention on the transfer from the East bound to the West bound terminals (CDO style), I dropped by the new SunStar Cagayan de Oro editor-in-chief, Froilan Gallardo. Froi was preparing to close the night’s paper when I dropped by over coffee.

I was glad to share a brief chat with my MindaNews colleague, who was my housemate in Davao City. I heard he has transformed SunStar’s copy and is doing a good job there.

I took a two-hour bus ride from CDO to Iligan near midnight and arrived at the “City of waterfalls” past 2a.m.

I was ready to sleep for the 9a.m. start of the training the following day. But apparently, my reservation at the city’s new Famous Inn was canceled. I ended up staying in a spartan room of a humble lodging house sans the convenience of a private bathroom and air-conditioning.

I called it “back to basics” hotel accommodation in a city as interesting as Iligan.

Anyway, I had a good sleep and realized that just like at home, I don’t have a bathroom and air-conditioning in our room🙂

As far as I’m concerned, the training went well with Bobby T. and Rex O. giving the other modules.

I was glad to have shared some of my knowledge and skills to the participants. But the better part of it is  that the new engagement gave me opportunity to draw lessons and experiences from the stories relayed by the participants. During ope forum, I learned about the experiences of the participants towards the media; some are good, some are bad.

By the way, among those I shared in the sidelines is the opportunity for the young participants to put up their own personal and organizational blogs.

Looking forward to the next engagement.

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

2 responses to “Bukidnon to Iligan and back”

  1. Taboan Mindanao says :

    Hi.. please join us at http://www.taboan.net .

    Taboan Mindanao is a social network of individuals and organizations promoting sustainable development of Mindanao.

  2. mindanaw says :

    Hi Taboan Mindanao,

    Thanks for inviting me. Ill link up soon. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

