No rice shortage in Bukidnon?

Measuring my rice has been the tease at home — something that has caused me ‘hunger’. When you are carrying heavier load than you should, you know what I mean.

I did try to eat less of it every time I remember; most of the time I failed.

So when the rice shortage news was carried in broadsheets the tease hit me even more. There was a friend who said I was to be blamed. I was also blamed for the protests in Tibet.

When agriculture officials told our reporter today Bukidnon is a rice surplus country, I was at first relieved; then puzzled.

It’s not true my appetite to grind more rice that caused the importation of hundreds of thousands of rice loads. The bulge could be a proof, but not enough to hoard truck loads.

I was puzzled because if it was true then why Kuya Dong, a nephew, bought well-milled rice at P29.50 per kilo last Sunday?

April, the MSU Marawi communication student who works for the local paper this summer said she was told production is in surplus; but not all of it go for local consumption.

How could I miss that? I was suppose to be an economics graduate whose Laws on Supply and Demand could have explained the problem.

It’s quite unfair really for people in some areas to produce rice at a certain buffer yet they still suffer high prices because other areas made land conversion to banana plantations, for example, very convenient.

I have a suggestion: its good to allow conversions from rice farms to fruit or vegetable exports business; but only to a certain area. Towns and cities should keep intact a critical mass of farmers and hectares planted exclusively to our staple food.

It’s not really shameful to buy rice from the Thais; it just appears to be an admission of neglect. I really do not know if pride is good to spar with hunger at this time.

While I was really about to puke on the taught of irony: rice surplus; high prices (simply poor economics?) I found out one of their assumptions is that of Bukidnon’s 1.31 million people; only 60 percent eat rice. The rest, so they say, eat corn.

It’s an idea difficult to sell. Maybe the 40 percent do not have anything to eat at all?

About mindanaw

A Journalist from Mindanao

One response to “No rice shortage in Bukidnon?”

  1. janz says :

    No rice shortage after all! Not in Mindanao!
    Hunger? I dont think so… we have alternative. Camote, etc.
    Keep on Mindanaoan! Tabangay ta sa paglambo.
    Visit my site at:
    http://www.laquihonandsons.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

