Archive | September 13, 2006

Covering Davao’s proposed aerial spraying ban

I’m tired of reading my notes and surfing the internet for information on the banana industry. It’s quite a burdensome thing to do. If I have a choice I don’t want to do this. But going through some of the websites made me search for more.

There is ought to be a lot of research a journalist has to equip himself to cover the aerial spray ban in Davao City. Certainly, this city’s journey with the pesticides, fungicides, and insecticides whatsoever has been done in many parts of the world. There is obviously and ocean of information that we need to know in order for us to understand how each player’s move to pursue their own interests.

I’m joining the banana industry’s media familiarization tour today, waking up 3:00 a.m. despite the fact that I slept at around past midnight hovering on these materials. I didn’t specify expectations for the trip. I only wanted to see how the banana industry would explain it to the media. I wanted to see if they are quite responding to the issues raised against aerial spraying.

I’m sure the tour would go on a “controlled” mode and I don’t expect to see any skeletons in their closet. This time I realized that whether a journalist would like it or not, he has to employ investigative means to get through all these spins that both parties lay on the table.

Really, I’m looking for meaning and perhaps purpose on what sorts of stories should be written to be a part of this public discussion. I hope to be able to write about stories, which add to the understanding, not the confusion of the public and even the policy makers. I wish journalists like me could hurdle that block to write reports that do not only report what policymakers have said or done but also help them formulate the right policy. That’s a too high order, but I guess that’s the only way.

As of now I saw at least four areas that should be covered: food safety, trade dynamics, health and environment, and public impact. The categories seem interlocking. I’m sure there’s a way to lump them together or get a sharper delineation, perhaps along the way.

Thrust into these, I assure you, I really feel so insufficient. Still insufficient and hopeful too.